Colan Parish Council

The parish of Colan (Cornish: Lannwydhek) has sometimes been called Little Colan or St Colan; it is situated in the Deanery and Hundred of Pydar. It is bounded on the north and west by St Columb Minor, on the east by St Columb Major, and on the south by St Enoder and Newlyn East. The parish, which is located towards the North Cornwall coast, is named after its patron: Saint Colanus.

The principal villages are Besoan or Besoughan (Bosoughan), Melancoose, and Mountjoy. – This extract is taken from